TTUHSC Administration
HSC Home Admin HomeSafety ServicesContacts

Safety Services Staff

Victor Means

Victor R. Means III, MBA

Emergency Management Coordinator
Radiation Safety Officer
Laser Safety Officer


Victor Means has served as Director of the Department of Safety Services since February 2006, and most recently has been appointed as Emergency Management Coordinator for TTUHSC. He has previously served as Interim Director for the department from May 2004 through January 2006, and as Radiation Safety Manager from December 2000 through May 2004. His responsibilities include the overall administration and operation of the Department of Safety Services, providing leadership for department staff, and advice and guidance to institutional stakeholders. As the institutional Emergency Management Coordinator, Victor has the additional responsibility to assure that TTUHSC is prepared for, and personnel are appropriately trained to respond to, mitigate, and recover from emergency situations. His oversight responsibilities also include Safety and Emergency Preparedness for the regional campuses, including Amarillo, Abilene, Dallas, El Paso, Highland Lakes, and Permian Basin.

With more than 29 years experience working with ionizing and non-ionizing radiation, Victor serves as the Radiation Safety Officer and Laser Safety Officer for the institution. He has more than 24 years experience as a safety generalist, including experience in construction, oilfield services, and cable television.

Victor received a BS degree in Engineering Technology (Mechanical Specialty) from Texas A&M University, and received an MBA (Management and Leadership Concentration) from Texas Tech University. He holds the Certified Safety Professional (CSP) credential. Victor has also earned the NSC Advanced Safety Certificate, the ASSE Certificate in Safety Management, and is active in a number of professional organizations, including ASSE, HPS, ISCD, LIA, ASLMS, CSHEMA, and NSC. He serves on several institutional committees, including the Radiation Safety Committee, Environment of Care Committee, Infection Control Committee, Institutional Compliance Working Committee, and the Research Compliance Committee.

Life is fragile ... work safely!