TTUHSC School of Medicine
HomeWest Texas Cancer Survivors Network

Cancer Nutrition Network for Texans

List of Members

CNNT Policy Council

Monica Meadows, Ph.D., RD, LD (Chairman) (Nutrition Education – Cancer Survivorship)

University of Texas at Austin
Department of Human Ecology
1 University Station A2700
Austin, TX 78712
Phone: 512-232-5865
Email: monicard@mail.utexas.edu

CNNT Logo

Jo Ann S. Carson, Ph.D., R.D. (Clinical Nutrition Research and Education)

Professor - Nutrition
Department of Clinical Nutrition
UT Southwestern Medical Center
5323 Harry Hines Blvd.
Dallas, TX 75390-8877
Phone: 214.648.1522
Email: joann.carson@utsouthwestern.edu

Cyndy Vorpahl Purcell, M.S.N., R.N., O.C.N.

(Oncology Nursing)
Oncology Clinical Nurse Specialist
Assistant Professor/Clinical
UT Health Science Center San Antonio SON
7703 Floyd Curl Dr
San Antonio, TX 78229
Phone: 210.567.5886
Email: purcellc@uthscsa.edu

Debra Reed, Ph.D, LD, RD (Nutrition Educator/Researcher)

Professor, Nutrition, Hospitality and Retailing
College of Human Sciences
Texas Tech University
MS 41240
Lubbock, TX 79409-1240
Email : debra.reed@ttu.edu
Phone: 806.742-3068
Cell: 806.252.0110

Catherine A. Ronaghan, MD, FACS (General Surgeon, Surgical Oncology)

4102 – 24th Street, Suite 406
Lubbock, TX 79410 (806) 725-6461
Email: Office Assistant, Becky King,
beking@covhs.org

Sister Mary Jane Strauch, CHE (Clinical Educator, Cancer)

UTMB Cancer Stop Case Manager
UTMB – Galveston, Dept of OB/GYN
301 University Blvd Galveston, TX 77555
Email: mjstrauc@utmb.edu
Phone: 409-747-1752

Karen Tso, MS, RD, LD (Program Director)

Asian-American Health Coalition – HOPE Clinic
7001 Corporate Dr., Ste 120
Houston, Texas 77036
(713) 773-2901 ext. 112; FAX (713) 271-5422
Internet: http://www.hopechc.org
E-mail: karen_tso@yahoo.com

Louise Villejo, M.P.H., C.H.E.S. (Cancer Health Education, Disparities)

MD Anderson Cancer Center
Patient Education Office
1515 Holcombe Boulevard
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713.792.7128 Fax: 713.794.5379
Email: lvillejo@mail.mdanderson.org

Margaret Vugrin M.L.L.S. (Clinical Medical Informatics)

Reference Librarian
3601 4th Street - MS 7781
Room: 243
Lubbock, TX 79430
Email : margaret.vugrin@ttuhsc.edu
Phone: 806-743-2241

CNNT Staff

Katherine Chauncey, PhD, RD (Director)

Professor of Nutrition
Texas Tech School of Medicine
Dept. of Family and Community Medicine
Room: 4B341, Mail Stop 8143
Lubbock, TX 79430
Office: 806-743-1100, ext. 258
Fax: 806-743-3955
Email: kathy.chauncey@ttuhsc.edu

Barbara Pence, Ph.D, CCRP (Co-Director)

(Cancer Prevention, Nutritional Basic Sciences)
Professor- Department of Pathology
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
3601 Fourth Street, Mail Stop 9097
Room BB196
Lubbock, TX 79430
TEL: 806-743-2170
FAX: 806-743-2766
E-mail: barbara.pence@ttuhsc.edu


Janet Basom, CSO, RD, LD (Coordinator))

Texas Tech School of Medicine
Dept. of Family and Community Medicine
Room: 4B345, Mail Stop 8143
Lubbock, TX 79430
Office: 806-743-1100, ext. 254
Fax: 806-743-1292
Email: janet.basom@ttuhsc.edu

©