TTUHSC Dallas Campus
HomeDallas Campus

About TTUHSC at Dallas

A glimpse at where it all began...

Dallas building

The Mission and Vision statements are available in both portrait (vertical) and landscape (horizontal) layouts to print and frame:

Portrait Layout
Landscape Layout

The TTUHSC Strategic Plan: 2013-2018 is available to print in PDF format

Historically, roughly one-third of the TTUHSC - SOP student population has come from within a 100-mile radius of Dallas, Fort Worth, Arlington, Irving, and Plano.

TTUHSC-SOP began developing its Dallas/Fort Worth regional center in early 1997. The School was encouraged by Eckerds Drug Stores, Baylor University Medical Center, the Texas Pharmacy Association, the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists, and the Texas Federation of Drug Stores to develop programs for meeting the critical shortage of pharmacists in the DFW Metroplex area.

In 1998 TTUHSC - SOP began clinical placements for a few fourth-year students. In 1999 the School leased office space from Baylor University Medical Center and opened its DFW regional center to accommodate the clinical pharmacy education objectives that are critical to the School's mission.

In 2002 Dr. Richard Leff was named regional dean for the DFW campus. Later that year the School was relocated to the North Texas Veterans Affairs campus in Dallas, where a 4,800 square-foot building was renovated and dedicated to the School of Pharmacy. Construction completed during 2003 expanded the campus to approximately 8,000 square feet.

Today the SOP's DFW center, still located on the North Texas VAMC campus, has the capacity to train 84 third- and fourth-year pharmacy students. There are presently 19 full-time faculty, five staff and 61 students who call the D/FW campus home. In addition, 12 pharmacy practice post-graduates and specialty residents are currently receiving their education and training through the D/FW regional campus and its affiliated institutions, which include the North Texas VAMC, Baylor University Medical Center, Children's Medical Center, Cook Children's Medical Center, Harris-Methodist Health System, Methodist Hospital Dallas, Parkland Memorial, and Presbyterian Medical Center.

In 2007 the SOP's affiliation with the North Texas VA Medical Center received the inaugural Crystal Apple Award at the 2007 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy annual meeting in Orlando. The award program recognizes colleges and schools of pharmacy and their pharmacy practice partners for achieving excellence in academic-practice partnerships for exemplary experiential education. It also recognizes the contributions of the faculty/administrators of colleges/schools of pharmacy and the pharmacist practitioner educators and administrators who are their practice partners in successfully conducting and supporting quality experiential education in exemplary patient care clinical teaching environments.

For more information, please contact TTUHSC School of Pharmacy, Dallas/Fort Worth:

Southwest Campus
5920 Forest Park Lane
Suite 400
Dallas, TX 75235
(214) 654-9404

VA Campus
4500 Lancaster Rd.
Building 7
Dallas, TX 75216
(214) 372-5300