TTUHSC Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
HomeBiomedical SciencesCurrent Students

The Graduate Student Association

Greetings, from the Graduate Student Association (GSA) officers! If you have questions about your classes, professors or the Lubbock locale, we can help. Our job is to make your life at TTUHSC a little bit easier and as much fun as possible. Let us know what we can do for you.

The GSA is a student organized and maintained government body.  Responsibilities of GSA officers include:

Graduate students who are enrolled full time are members of the GSA and there are no membership dues. 

Benefits of GSA membership include:

  • Travel awards for those students who meet set requirements
  • Social events that allow students from all departments to meet in a casual setting to get to know one another.

There are lots of ways to contact us:

  • Email always works great. We check it multiple times a day and can reply quickly.
  • Track us down in the hallway. We might be up for a bit of conversation and coffee.
  • Follow the link to our website from the GSBS current students page.
  • If you would like to see what we have been covering in our meetings, please see our meeting minutes.

2014-2015 GSA Officer Profiles

Allie Clinton_GSA President

Allie Clinton

Allie is a fourth year Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Immunology and Infectious Diseases.  She works with Dr. Kendra P. Rumbaugh focusing on chronic wounds, polymicrobial infections and biofilm.  Specifically, her project investigates the interspecies interaction of Pseudomonas aeruginosa and Staphylococcus aureus in the chronic wound environment.  In her spare time, Allie enjoys traveling, athletics, and cooking.

   Greg Fendley Vice-President

Greg Fendley
Vice President

Greg is a 3rd year Ph.D. student in the Cellular Physiology and Molecular Biophysics Department working under the mentorship of Dr. Guillermo Altenberg.  His research focus is on mapping the changes in the transmembrane regions of P-glycoprotein during it's hydrolysis cycle.  When  not in lab, he enjoys Houston Texans football, cooking, and traveling.


Nirupama Nishtala GSA

Nirupama Nishtala
Public Relations Director

Nirupama is a 5th year Ph.D. student under the mentorship of Dr. Michaela Jansen in the Cell Physiology and Molecular Biophysics Department.  Her research focus is studying the interactions of cellular chaperones with intraceullular domain of Cys-Loop receptiors, a subfamily of pentameric ligand gated ion channels.  In her spare time, Nirupama enjoys reading, cooking and sleeping.


Srinivasan Krishnan GSA

Srinivasan Krishnan

Srinivasan is a 3rd year Ph.D. student in the Department of Cell Physiology and Molecular Biophysics, working under the mentorship of Drs. Guillermo Altenberg and Luis Cuello.  His research focus is on development and valudation of a cell-based high-throughput screening assay for connexin hemichannels.  In his spare time, Srinivasan enjoys reading, racquetball and eating. 


 Jake Everett GSA

Jake Everett
Student Government Association Senator

Jake is a 5th year Ph.D. Candidate in the Department of Immunology and Infectious Diseases investigating the dynamics of medically-relevant microbes in would infections under the mentorship of Dr. Kendra Rumbaugh.  Specifically, his project is focused on understanding the contribution of bacterial chemotaxis and motility to the systemic spread of the opportunistic pathogen, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, in severe burn wound infections.  Outside of the lab, Jake enjoys listening to music, building home theater and custom audio components, and above all, spending time with his furbaby, Juneau. 


 Monish Makena GSA

Monish Makena
Student Government Association Senator

Monish Makena is a fourth year Ph.D. Candidate, working under the guidance of Dr. Reynolds at the Cancer Center.  His research focuses on development of novel combination therapy in relapse T-cell leukemia's and lymphomas, which will enhance the survival rates in T-cell lymphoid malignancies.  His hobbies include reading, cooking, traveling, and meditation.


                                                    Student Research Week Committee

Hutton Jones
Student Research Week Director

Ravi Rajmohan
SRW Vice Director of Judging


Dattesh Verlekar
SRW Vice Director of Operations

Loc Le
SRW Vice Director of Marketing