TTUHSC Office of Institutional Compliance

HIPAA Oversight


The President has established and Institutional HIPAA Committee to oversee issues and concerns related to the privacy and security of Protected Health Information (PHI) and electronic PHI.   It will provide oversight of TTUHSC's compliance with HIPAA and applicable state laws governing the use, storage and disclosure of PHI.  In further support of the regulations issued through the HITECH act, the HIPAA Committee, in conjunction with the Institutional Privacy and Security Officers will develop and maintain a Breach Notification Process to be used in the event of an unauthorized disclosure of Electronic Protected Health Information (EPHI).  This committee is considered a "medical committee" as defined under Texas Health and Safety Code §161.031(a) and/or other applicable state and federal statutes.
Privacy and Security of Health Information, HSC OP 52.02
Security Manual for PHI, page 13

Compliance Governance and Oversight Organizational Chart

                         Area Represented


Institutional Privacy Officer Sonya Castro-Quirino,   Institutional Privacy Officer (IPO)
Regional Privacy Officers Alicia Krizan, Amarillo Privacy Officer
Yvette Quintana-Chávez, El Paso Privacy Officer
Melissa 'McCall' Castracane, Permian Basin Privacy Officer
Vacant, Lubbock Privacy Officer
Human Resources Rebecca Salcido
Research Chad Copeland
Research PLF-SOM Myrna Arvizo, BMS, CIP
Centricity Application Services Pat Conover
Institutional Security Andrew Howard,   Institutional Security Officer (ISO)
Miguel Hernandez, El Paso Security Liaision
IT - El Paso Jerry Rodriguez
Electronic Medical Records Craig Bradley, MD
School of Medicine Brent Magers
Paul L. Foster-SOM Michael Romano, MD
School of Nursing Linda McMurry, MSN, RN
School of Pharmacy Roland Patry, RPh, DrPhH, MS
School of Allied Health Sciences Jeremy Donai, AuD
General Counsel (ex officio) Becky Hellbaum, JD

Do you want to return to the Governance Oversight Homepage?