TTUHSC Information Technology

OU Campus Content Management System

Training Guide

Checking Content Out/In

Pages are marked as "checked out" when they are locked to a user. There are multiple reasons that a page will appear as checked out to a user, and there are different indicators to help make clear why a page is marked as checked out, and whether or not the page is checked out to another user or the logged in user.

From within the folder structure view, the indicator for the status of a page in the workflow, including whether it is checked out or not, is found under the Edit column.

Icons

Checkout Icon An unlit light bulb indicates that the page is checked in and can be checked out for editing.
Checkin Icon A lit light bulb indicates that the page is checked out to the current user (the individual currently logged into, working in, and viewing OU Campus).
Red Lock Icon A red lock indicates that the page is checked out to another user. It is possible to hover over the lock to see to whom the page is checked out. This will appear in a little pop-up.
Gold Lock Icon A gold lock indicates that the page is checked out to the current user because the user has scheduled an action to occur. The action could be either a scheduled publish or scheduled expiration. The lock will appear as a red lock to all other users.
Scheduled Publish Icon If the page is checked out due to a scheduled publish, in the Publish column, a calendar with a small, green plus sign will appear. This calendar icon can be clicked on by an administrator or the individual who scheduled the page to be published in order to change the publish date and time or to cancel the publish completely.
Scheduled Expiration Icon If the page is checked out due to a scheduled expiration, in the Publish column, a calendar with a small, red minus sign will appear. This calendar icon can be clicked on by an administrator or the individual who scheduled the page to expire in order to change the expiration date and time or to cancel the expiration completely.
Thumbs Up Icon A thumbs up indicates that the page is checked out to the current user as part of the workflow process. The page has been sent by another user for approval and should be reviewed for accuracy and completeness prior to being published.
Chat Bubbles Icon Two chat bubbles indicate that the page is checked out to another user as part of the workflow process. The page is waiting for approval from that user. Hover over the chat bubbles to see to whom the page was sent for approval.

Checking a Page Back In

It is valuable to note that pages and Assets stay checked out to the user until the user:

  1. Sends the page to another user for review.
  2. Publishes the page.
  3. Checks the page back into the system by clicking on the lighted (yellow) light bulb from either the folder structure or the Current Projects view found in the Dashboard > Current Projects tab.

Make sure to check the page back in once it can be made available to other users.

©