OU Campus Content Management System
Recycle & Restore
The use of the recycle bin is a site-by-site configuration that by default is enabled for an account. If the recycle bin is not configured for a site, then files can only be permanently deleted rather than being sent to the recycle bin. Files in workflow cannot not be immediately recycled; that is, if a page is locked by a user or pending approval by another user, the admininistrator would need to check in the page before it can be recycled. Not all users have inherent rights to recycle, restore, and delete. Recycle bin permissions are configured by an administrator.
Recycle Bin Icon
In the context of OU Campus when the recycle bin is enabled the following functionality is available:
- Recycle: A file sent to the recycle bin can be restored.
- Recycle: A file can be restored from the recycle bin.
- Recycle: Files can be permanently deleted from the recycle bin after being recycled to the recycle bin. A directory can only be deleted, as no recycle functionality is available for a directory.
- Recycle: The recycle bin can be emptied to permanently delete all files in the recycle bin.
Recycling a File
To recycle a file, click the Recycle Bin icon for the file:
When the recycle functionality is enabled for a site, pages on the staging server must be recycled before they can be permanently deleted. A recycled page or file can also be restored from the recycle bin if necessary. After a page has been restored, it must be re-published to the production server. When a page is recycled on the staging server, the published derivatives are automatically deleted from production servers. Likewise, a file can also be solely deleted from the production server or other publish target by navigating to the Production tab or tab for the publish target, and deleting it. The recycle bin functionality does not extend to these servers. Once a file is deleted from the production server or publish target, it cannot be restored. It can be re-published from the main file on the staging server with any routine form of publishing, such as publish, site publish, directory publish, or scheduled publish.
Multiple files can be recycled with the same action by selecting the checkboxes adjacent to the file names and clicking the Recycle Bin icon above the view of the folder structure. This can be useful to simulate a directory recycle.
About the Recycle Bin
The recycle bin is only for files on the staging server. Files deleted from the production server that do not have a direct counterpart on the staging server are deleted permanently and are not recoverable. When a file is sent to the recycle bin on the staging server, the file and all of its version history as well as its path and access rights are all moved to the recycle bin. All files that were created on the production server from the file being sent to the recycle bin are permanently deleted from the production server.
The recycle bin is for files only as directories can not be sent to the recycle bin. Deleting a directory will permanently delete all files and folders contained in the directory from both the staging and production servers. This is the same function as when there is no recycle bin configured for a web site.
Multiple files of the same name and (and path) can be sent to the Recycle Bin, they are all be listed in the recycle bin but with a -# (e.g., file-1.ext, file-2.ext) appended to the subsequent files that are moved to the recycle bin.
The Recycle Bin is not meant to be used as an archive. If a file is sent to the Recycle Bin, and later the directory is deleted, if the file is selected to be restored, the original path to the file is recreated and the file moved back. None of the access properties that may be necessary to publish the page will exist as they are stored with the directory, and the original directory was deleted. The access settings and/or directory variables will need to be set by the admin in order to manage or publish the file.
Directories cannot be recycled on staging or on a production server. Directories that are deleted are permanently deleted. The multiple file recycle function can be used to simulate a directory recycle. Select all files within a directory with the checkbox located above the view of the folder structure and click the Recycle Bin icon in the same area to recycle the files. Then the directory can be deleted. Recycling files within a directory in this method allows the files to be individually restored if needed.
To delete the directory, click the Trash Can icon:
Restoring or Deleting from the Recycle Bin
A file can be restored or permanently deleted from the recycle bin, or the entire recycle bin can be emptied.
To view the contents of the recycle bin, click the Restore icon/link:
From within the recycle bin, click the Restore icon for the file to restore a file: The restored file is placed back in its original location.
To delete a file, click the Trash Can icon:
To exit the Recycle Bin, click the Exit Recycle Bin button.
A Bit More About Restore
When a file is restored from the recycle bin, the file, its version history and file permissions are moved back to the original location on the staging server. The file must be published to return the file to the production server. If a file of the same name and with the same directory path as a recycled file has been created, it should be renamed or moved in order before restoring.