OU Campus Content Management System
Publishing a Page
File, directories, or sites can be published from the staging server to the production
server or an alternative publish target, if configured. Once a page, directory or
site is published is it available on the World Wide Web. This topic discusses publishing
a page from a user's perspective.
Pages can be published by all user levels. However, it is possible to restrict publishing
permissions by assigning an approver, and even overriding that restriction with a
Publishers group. If, as a user, only Send to Approver is available, then the page
must be sent to an approver as part of the publishing workflow.
Publishing a page is also a method to reuse content. Page publish can include publishing
to multiple outputs and alternative publish targets.
Additionally, at the time of publish various automated reviews of the page to check
spelling, accessibility, linking and standards validation can be configured by an
administrator to automatically run.
Dependency Manager tracks when a page includes dependencies that have not yet been
published. When publishing a page an error message indicates that the page includes
unpublished content that might result in broken links or missing content. The unpublished
content can include assets and unpublished pages. From the Publish Option section,
select the Include unpublished dependencies checkbox to publish the unpublished content.
About Recycle, Delete, & Restore
Inherently, only administrators and Level 8 users can recycle and delete files, pages,
directories, and assets. The delete permissions for Level 8 include only the files
and directories to which they have access. Administrators can assign access rights
for recycling and deleting files and pages to Level 1–7 users. By default the recycle
bin function is configured for a site, and this allows pages on the staging server
to be recycled rather than immediately and permanently deleted. When a page is recycled
rather than deleted, it can later be restored if necessary. When a page is recycled
on the staging server, the published derivatives are automatically deleted from production
servers. Likewise, a file can also be solely deleted from the production server or
other publish target by navigating to the Production tab or tab for the publish target,
and deleting it. The recycle bin functionality does not extend to these servers. Once
a file is deleted from the production server or publish target, it cannot be restored.
It can be re-published from the main file on the staging server with any routine form
of publishing, such as publish, site publish, directory publish, or scheduled publish.
Directories cannot be recycled on staging nor on a production server. Directories
that are deleted are immediately and permanently deleted. There is a multiple file
recycle function. All or multiple files within a directory can be selected with the
checkbox and the recycle bin function for multiple files can be selected. Then the
directory can be deleted. Recycling files within a directory in this method enables
the ability to individual restore the files from the directory. Restoring a file is
performed from the recycle bin. From the recycle bin a file can be restored or permanently
deleted, or the entire recycle bin can be emptied. For more information:
Recycleing & Restoring