OU Campus Content Management System
Publishing a Page
- A page can be published immediately after editing and saving the page by clicking on the large Publish Now button in the Page Actions Toolbar. The button will only appear if the user has publishing rights.
- A page can be published by navigating to Content > Pages and clicking on the Publish icon, which will only appear if the page is checked out to the user and the user has publishing rights.
- Multiple pages can be published simultaneously by checking the boxes in front of the pages to be published. Simply check the boxes in front of the pages to be published, and click on the Publish option at the top of the Content > Pages window.
Clicking the Publish Now button displays a publish screen. Within this screen the following tools may be found:
- Final Check -This allows a final spell check, link check, and page validation to be completed before publishing the page. The available tools will vary based on the administrator settings. It is possible that these checks will run automatically. Simply click on the green arrow to run the final check if it does not run automatically.
- Publish Target - Select the desired publish target. WIP is the test server for viewing, and main(Production) is the production server.
- Publish Options - If a page includes unpublished dependencies, there is the option to select a checkbox to publish unpublished dependencies at the time of publish. Dependency Manager reports at page publish time if there is dependent content that has not been published to the target server. This includes content that is linked or referred to by the page that is being published. By selecting to include the unpublished dependencies, those files are published as well. This action prevents broken links (for example) from existing on the current page being published. This is useful if a user has linked to a page that has not yet been published and starts to publish that page. This way the page that was linked to is also published. This checkbox is only shown if the Dependency Manager is being used on the site, dependency tags are used in the page being published, and one or more of those dependency tags refer to files that have not been published to the target yet.
- Version Description - This will allow a version description to be included in order to indicate what was updated and why the page is being published. This can be used when choosing previous versions in which to revert.
- Publish button
Users are only able to complete the publish if the user has publishing rights.
Example of Publish Screen
NOTE: If there is an assigned approver, an error message will appear indicating the pages that have to be published individually by the approver. To proceed, uncheck the listed pages, and then click on the Publish option again.