TTUHSC Information Technology
HomeInformation TechnologyInformation ServicesInformation Services TrainingOU Campus CMSPublishing

OU Campus Content Management System

Training Guide

Scheduled Publish

When users want to publish content, but wish to do so at a later date, they can utilize the Scheduled Publish tool. A scheduled publish can only be canceled or modified by the user who set the schedule or a Level 9 or 10 administrator. The Schedule Publish tab is part of the Publish dialog, which can be accessed from the Pages list view by selecting Pages > Content from the global navigation bar.

A scheduled publish can only be canceled or modified by the user who set the schedule or a Level 9 or 10 administrator.

Schedule a Publish

Additionally, selecting a publish can be performed from any screen that contains the Page Actions dropdown.

Schedule Tab

When users select the Schedule tab of the Publish dialog, the following elements are displayed:

  • Date: The target date the user wants the page to publish on.
  • Time: The time at which the scheduled publish will take place.
  • Repeat Every: Allows users to repeat the publish by specific amounts of time using the text field and drop-down selector.
  • Subject: Optionally, users can send an external email in addition to the internal OU Campus message. This field lets users add a subject line to that email.
  • Message: Allows users to include a brief message about the publish in an external email.
  • Also Email Me: If selected, the option sends an external email to user in addition to the internal OU Campus message.

Example of Schedule Publish Screen

Scheduled Publish Screen

After a scheduled publish has been performed, the content's status will change in the Pages list view. A green calendar icon indicates that the page is checked out to the current user because the user has scheduled a publish to occur. Other users' scheduled publishes will appear as red calendars.

Scheduled Publish ListView

Performing a Scheduled Publish

  1. Navigate to the Pages list view by selecting Content > Pages from the global navigation bar.
  2. Hover over the target item's row and select Schedule from the Publish menu. Additionally, navigating to a view that displays the Page Actions toolbar and selecting Schedule from the drop-down menu on the Publish button will accomplish this.
    Scheduled from Page View
  3. Click in the Date text field to display a calendar widget and select a date. Users can scroll through the months of the calendar using the arrows at the top of the calendar.
    Date Calendar
  4. Click in the Time text field to display a time selector and set the target date for the publish.  If desired select the repeat schedule process by selecting a number in the dropdown and then selecting Hours, Days, Weeks, Months or Years from the dropdown.
    Time Chooser
  5. In the Notification section, a checkbox may be selected to Also Email Me. This sets an optional notification email that can be sent when the page is published. If selected, fill out the fields in the Notification section..
    Optional Notirication Upon Completion Screen
  6. If preferred, select the Final Check tab and run any tests necessary before publishing.
  7. Click Schedule. A success message is shown briefly at the bottom of the screen.

When the page is published, the notification email is sent through workflow, and if the option checkbox was utilized, through external email.

Removing a Scheduled Publish

A scheduled publish can also be removed from a page or file. If a user attempts to immediately publish content that is already scheduled for publishing at a later date, they will be unable to perform this action until the scheduled publish assignment is removed. To remove a scheduled publish:

  1. Navigate to the Pages list view by selecting Content > Pages from the global navigation bar.
  2. Click the green calendar icon on the target item's row to display the Remove Scheduled Publish dialog.
    Removing a Scheduled Publish
  3. Click the Remove button to cancel the scheduled publish.

To remove the scheduled publish using the Page actions toolbar:

  1. Preview the scheduled page, or enter into the pages Edit mode through DirectEdit or by using the My Checked-Out Content gadget.
  2. Click the Remove Scheduled Publish button in the page actions toolbar.
    Remove Scheduled publish from page actions toolbar
  3. A confirmation dialog will appear briefly at the bottom of your screen.

When the page is published, the notification email is sent through Workflow, and if the option checkbox was utilized, through external email.

Previous PagePrevious Page

Next Page Next Page

©