TTUHSC School of Medicine
HomeSchool of MedicinePharmacology and Neuroscience


GSBS 2017 Dean's Scholars

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Dean's Scholars have been selected!  Among the recipients selected is Translational Neuroscience and Pharmacology Student Dylan Meyer!  Dylan Meyer works in the lab of Dr. Pablo Artigas, Associate Professor (Department of Cell Physiology and Molecular Biophysics).  

Congratulations to Dylan Meyer and all Dean's Scholars who were selected!

Dean's Scholars 2017 Announcement

2017 State of the university address and faculty convocation

The 2017 State of the University Address and Faculty Convocation took place on Tuesday, November 7th.  At this event several faculty received awards for their exceptional efforts in areas such as research, teaching, teamwork and etc.  At this event two faculty members from the department received awards. 

Dr. Michael Blanton received an University Distinguished Faculty Award and Dr. Volker Neugebauer received the President's Excellence in Research Award.

Congratulations to you both for these well-deserved awards!

Drs. Michael Blanton and Volker Neugebauer receiving President's Awards

3rd Annual Research REtreat

The Department of Pharmacology and Neuroscience held it's Third Annual Research Retreat. The event took place October 18, 2017 in Lubbock, Texas at The Spirit Ranch.  The meeting provided a unique opportunity to inform about research activities of department members, develop collaborative research projects and discuss departmental goals and strategies related to our research endeavors and academic mission. The retreat featured key note speaker, Dr. Mary Heinricher, Professor of Neurological Surgery, Associate Dean, Basic Research and Vice Chair, Research, Neurological Surgery at Oregon Health and Science University.   

3rd Annual Research Retreat

Congratulations - Sydney Hicks, Employee of the Quarter October 2017

Please join us in congratulating our Employee of the Quarter for October 2017, Sydney Hicks.  Miss Hicks currently is an undergraduate student at Texas Tech University and will graduate December 2017.  She works the lab of Dr. J.Josh Lawrence, Associate Professor (Pharmacology and Neuroscience).  

Sydney Hicks  Group photo 1 - Sydney Hick, Employee of the Quarter 10.17  Group photo 2 Sydney Hicks, EOQ 10.17

PhD Candidate, Dylan Meyer published in The Journal of Physiology

Translational Neuroscience and Pharmacology PhD Candidate, Dylan Meyer and his mentor Dr. Pablo Artigas (Associate Professor, Cell Physiology and Molecular Biophysics) in collaboration with Craig Gatto (Ph.D, Illinois State University) have studied the functional effects of specific mutations of the Na/K pump found in tumors that induce primary aldosteronism.  

The research article can be found at The Journal of General Physiology at  You can also read more about this project by visiting Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center's Daily Dose, October 2017 edition at

Congratulations - Vadim Yakhnitsa, Employee of the Quarter July 2017

Please join us in congratulating our Employee of the Quarter for July 2017, Dr. Vadim Yakhnitsa.  Dr. Yakhnitsa joined the department to work in Dr. Volker Neugebauer's lab February of 2015.  Dr. Yakhnitsa embodies so many great qualities and is an extremely dedicated researcher.  Congratulations Dr. Yakhnitsa and thank you for your exemplary work!

Drs. Yahnitsa and Kiritoshi  Group photo  Maria Morris with Drs. Ji and Yakhnitsa

Dr. J. Josh Lawrence awarded CH Foundation Grant

A very big congratulations to Dr. J. Josh Lawrence who will receive a CH Foundation grant for his project titled "Novel Treatment Strategies to Enhance Brain Acetylcholine Levels in an Autism Mouse Mode".  

Dr. Karl Kashfi completes dissertation defense

Congratulations to PhD student Dr. Karl Kashfi who recently presented his oral and written portions of his defense!  Dr. Kashfi did an excellent job and successfully passed his dissertation defense.  Dr. Kashfi has worked in Dr. Michael O'Boyle's lab on the Texas Tech University campus.  We wish Dr. Kashfi the all the best of his future endeavors.

Dr. Jeremy Thompson Completes Dissertation Defense

Congratulations to MD/PhD Student, Dr. Jeremy Thompson on passing both the written and oral portions of his Dissertation Defense.  Dr. Jeremy Thompson works in Dr. Volker Neugebauer's lab.  Dr. Thompson has been an outstanding student and will be missed as when he goes on to complete the remaining time of his education for the MD portion.

Congratulations to Dylan Meyer  

Graduate Student, Dylan Meyer passed his Qualifying Exam on May 30, 2017.  Dylan Meyer is currently in the lab of Dr. Pablo Artigas.  Job well done Dylan!  

Graduate Student, Dylan Meyer receives the Robert Gunn Award

Congratulations to Dylan Meyer who was been awarded the Robert Gunn Award from the American Physiological Society! The Cell and Molecular Physiology Section will awards up to six Robert Gunn Student Awards to medical, graduate or undergraduate students.  Dylan Meyer is a Translational Neuroscience and Pharmacology, PhD student who currently works in the lab of Dr. Pablo Artigas.

Way to go Dylan!

SRW Poster session Winner - Jeremy Thompson, MD/Phd STudent

Congratulations to Jeremy Thompson,MD/PhD student who is currently in Dr. Volker Neugebauer's lab!  He took first place in the 2017 Student Research Week Poster Session under the category of Upper Level Doctoral Students.  Mr. Thompson also received the F. Marie Hall Institute for Rural and Community Health Scholarship at this years SRW.  To read more about the event and other winners please visit

Pharmacology and Neuroscience Employee of the Quarter, April 2017 - Mariacristina Mazzitelli

Congratulations to Mariacristina Mazzitelli for being selected as the Pharmacology and Neurosciene employee of the quarter for April of 2017.  Mariacristing is a visiting research associate from Naples, Italy.  She currently works in Dr. Volker Neugeabuer's lab.  The department has really enjoyed having Miss. Mazzitelli and look forward to her remaing time at TTUSHC!

Certificate   Mariacristina Mazzitelli and Maria Morris  

Call For Abstracts - 2nd Annual Center of Excellence for Translational Neuroscience and Therapeutics

The Enter of Excellence for Translational Neuroscience and Therapeutics (CTNT) will hold the 2nd Annual CTNT Symposium.  This one day event will take place on Thursday, April 27th on the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Lubbock Campus.  The event will be a day of sciences with key note speaker and Alexander D. Kenny recipient, Dr. Robert W. Gereau from Washington University in St. Louis.  There will also be various presentations from center members.

To register for this year's event please go to:  There is no fee to register or attend this event.

To submit an abstract for the poster session please submit through email to  Final deadline for submission is Friday April 14th, 2017.

If you have any questions regarding abstract submission, please contact Dr. Volker Neugebauer, Director of CTNT by email at

Drs. Susan Bergeson, Josee Guindon, and Peter Syapin featured in the Winter 2017 issue of Pulse.

Drs. Susan Bergeson, Josee Guindon, and Peter Syapin were featured in PULSE in an article titled "Antibiotics may prove therapy for effects of alcohol over consumption.  You can view the story here (See Page 19).

New Featured ARticles - Dr. Volker Neugebauer

Dr. Neugebauer recently had two feature articles.

  • "Amygdala Serotonin Receptors in Neuropathic Pain" - The Journal of Neuroscience
    This recent paper was selected as one of the two featured articles in "This Week in The Journal".

  • "Serotonin Receptors in the Brain May Drive Emotional Response to Pain" - The Journal of Neuroscience
    This was selected for "Highlights" in their "their press room" section.