TTUHSC News and Events

News and Media Archive

DATE: 10/24/2008
CONTACT: Office of Communications and Marketing ( )
PHONE: (806) 743-2143

Laura W. Bush Institute For Women’s Health Hosts Inaugural National Advisory Board Meeting

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Laura W. Bush Institute for Women’s Health held the inaugural meeting of its National Advisory Board in Dallas, on October 21 at the Fairmont Hotel.

Dr. Marjorie Jenkins, executive director of the LWBIWH, introduced each of the new board members and provided an overview of the Institute’s strategic plan and priorities. Among items discussed were the education of health care professionals, improved access to quality heath care, and development of partners to improve community health.

“I am proud that so many committed individuals who have the resources and energy to help improve the health of women in Texas and around the world have agreed to serve on the Laura W. Bush Institute for Women’s Health advisory board,” noted Mrs. Laura Bush.

“Nationally, the institute has the opportunity to set the standard for women’s health educational outreach, health care literacy and integrated research programs as well as community partnerships,” said Dr. John Baldwin, President Texas Tech University Heath Sciences Center. “The National Advisory Board will play a critical role in the institute’s growth and development.”

The Laura W. Bush Institute for Women’s Health (LWBIWH) was established in 2007 to create an enduring, positive impact on the health and well-being of women and their families through multi-disciplinary research, education and community outreach.

The institute connects women’s health efforts among the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center campus communities of Abilene, Amarillo, El Paso, Lubbock and the Permian Basin.

The National Advisory Board members include Andi Ball, Austin; Debbie Francis, Dallas; Larry Gill, Abilene; F. Marie Hall, Midland; Susie Hance, Lubbock; J. Pat Hickman, Amarillo; Karen Hughes, Austin; Nancy Inman, Austin; Nancy Jones, Abilene; Nancy Neal, Lubbock; Adair Margo, El Paso; Jan O’Neil, Midland; Diane Scovell, Dallas; Diana Strauss, Dallas; Nancy Weiss, Lubbock and Donna Williams, Arlington.

Kent Hance, chancellor, Texas Tech University System and Dr. Baldwin hosted a reception at the Fairmont Hotel on Monday night honoring the newly-appointed LWBIWH National Advisory Board.

“Dr. Jenkins has assembled a talented and dedicated board to guide this organization,” stated Hance. “Their collective wisdom will help to define the mission of the Laura W. Bush Institute for Women’s Health and significantly assist Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center’s research initiatives focused on women’s health issues.”

Bookmarkable Link