TTUHSC School of Pharmacy
HomeSOPAdministrationRegional DeansOffice of the Abilene Regional Dean

Abilene Regional Dean's Office

Sara BrouseSara Brouse, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, AQ Cardiology

Sara Brouse, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS AQ Cardiology is a Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Regional Dean at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) School of Pharmacy Abilene Campus. She earned her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Missouri--Kansas City in Kansas City, MO in 1997 and completed her PGY1 Pharmacy Practice and PGY2 Critical Care Pharmacy Residencies at University of Kentucky (UK) Healthcare in Lexington, KY. Following her training, she worked at TTUHSC School of Pharmacy School of Pharmacy Dallas/Fort Worth campus for 12 years. She was promoted to Associate Professor in 2006 and served as Vice Chair for Residency Programs (2005-2011). Dr. Brouse was credentialed & privileged to practice as an Advanced Practice Pharmacist in Cardiology at the VA North Texas Healthcare System. She maintained a busy practice on the Cardiology ICU Service and within Cardiovascular Pharmacotherapy Continuity Clinic. Dr. Brouse was the Program Director for the ASHP-accredited PGY2 Critical Care Residency at the VA North Texas and trained 15 PGY2 residents during her tenure as program director. Dr. Brouse moved back to Kentucky (2011-2016), working as a Cardiovascular Clinical Specialist and Adjunct Associate Professor with UK Healthcare /UK College of Pharmacy. She served as PGY2 Internal Medicine Residency Program Director and Cardiovascular Clinical Coordinator during her time there. She developed and maintained a practice with the Advanced Heart Failure/Mechanical Circulatory Support and Transplantation team, and developed a transitional care clinic practice in the weekly LVAD clinic.

Dr. Brouse actively participates in several professional organizations, including the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP), American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), American College of Cardiology (ACC). She is currently a Regent with ACCP (2014-2017). She was appointed to the ASHP Section Advisory Group on Preceptor Skills Development, serving as Vice Chair and Chair of the committee (2012-2016). She is an accreditation site surveyor for ASHP-accredited residencies. She served on the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties Cardiology Specialty Examination Role Delineation committee and the Specialty Council on Critical Care Pharmacy. She is past-president of the Dallas-Fort Worth Chapter of ACCP. She has been invited to speak locally, regionally, nationally, and internationally on cardiovascular topics related to acute coronary syndromes, acute heart failure, and arrhythmias. Her research interests include cardiac drug-induced adverse effects and studying drug therapy in heart failure and refractory angina.

Office of the Regional Dean

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Pharmacy

1718 Pine Street Abilene, Texas 79601

(325) 696-0474


Additional Contact Information:

Name Campus/Room Phone No. Position Email Address
Bridgett Gann ABI/1000 (325) 696-0474 Program Coordinator
Sara Brouse, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, AQ Cardiology ABI/1004 (325) 696-0559 Regional Dean