TTUHSC Office of the President
HomePresident's OfficeStaff

President's Executive Council

Dean of the School of Medicine

Steven Berk, MD

Steven L. Berk, M.D.

Dean of the School of Medicine

Phone: 806.743.3000

About the Office

Steven Lee Berk, M.D. is Vice President for Medical Affairs and Dean, School of Medicine at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. Dr. Berk held the positions of Regional Dean, Professor of Medicine, and Mirick-Myers Endowed Chair in Geriatric Medicine of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine in Amarillo from 1999-2006. He graduated from Boston University School of Medicine and completed his internal medicine residency and infectious disease fellowship at Boston City Hospital. He is Board Certified in Internal Medicine and Infectious Disease with a certificate of added qualification in Geriatrics.

The campuses of the School of Medicine operate 29 individually accredited residency programs and 9 fellowship programs in West Texas. As of September, 2007, these programs had 512 total residents in training, including 19 fellows, of which 345 (67%) were in primary care fields of Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Med/Peds, OB/GYN and Pediatrics. Of the 345 total primary care residents in training, 95 are specifically in Family Medicine. The 29 residency programs and 9 fellowship programs have 163 first year trainees, and will graduate approximately 174 residents and fellows in 2008.

Return to President's Executive Council go


TTUHSC is a component of the Texas Tech University System. The President of TTUHSC reports to the Chancellor, who is the Chief Executive Officer of the System. The Chancellor and the President are responsible to the Texas Tech University Board of Regents, which sets overall policy for the Texas Tech University System, Texas Tech University, and TTUHSC.