TTUHSC Office of the President
HomePresident's OfficeStaff

President's Executive Council

Dean of the School of Pharmacy

Quentin Smith, PhD

Quentin Smith, Ph.D.

Dean of the School of Pharmacy

Phone: 806.356.4000

About the Office

The School of Pharmacy is based in Amarillo, with regional campuses in Dallas/Fort Worth, El Paso, and Lubbock.

The TTUHSC School of Pharmacy was established in 1993 to offer the degree of Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D). The School began accepting applications and enrolled its first class of 63 students in the fall of 1996. The founding class graduated in May, 2000. The SOP has conferred 568 Pharm.D. degrees through May 2007. In addition to the traditional Pharm.D. program, the School also provides a Ph.D. program in the basic pharmaceutical sciences and a Graduate Pharmacy Education Program (residency program). Through the residency program, pharmacists gain advance practice skills leading to specialization beyond the entry professional degree.

The School of Pharmacy also supports a significant research program with approximately 14,000 square feet of laboratory space. Current efforts include research targeted at drug delivery, drug metabolism, drug formulation, blood brain barrier, cancer, cardiovascular pharmacology, immunology, infectious disease, molecular biology, pharmaceutics, pharmacokinetics/pharmacodynamics, and pharmacoeconomics.

Return to President's Executive Council go


TTUHSC is a component of the Texas Tech University System. The President of TTUHSC reports to the Chancellor, who is the Chief Executive Officer of the System. The Chancellor and the President are responsible to the Texas Tech University Board of Regents, which sets overall policy for the Texas Tech University System, Texas Tech University, and TTUHSC.