TTUHSC School of Medicine
HomeSchool of MedicineFamily Medicine

Family Medicine Reunion CME 2011

Make plans to attend the South Plains TAFP Family Medicine Fall Update, a Continuing Medical Education and Family Medicine Residency Reunion Event

  • Saturday, October 1, 2011
  • Overton Hotel and Conference Center

A maximum of 6.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s) depending on the extent of participation. 

Highlights of the event include:
  • A buffet dinner with Football on the Big Screen on Saturday evening for attendees and their families
  • Cost: $150, CME Registration

A block of rooms has been reserved at the Overton Hotel, 2322 Mac Davis Lane, Lubbock, TX 79401, (806) 776-7000, 888-776-7001 until September 23 (ask for TTUHSC Family Medicine Alumni)

Tentative Schedule for Saturday, October 1:
  • 9-10 AM: Registration and continental breakfast
  • 10-11 AM: Update on Stroke Prevention - Jongyeol Kim MD,- Associate Professor of Neurology, TTUHSC  (CME credit: 1.0 hour)
  • 11 AM - 12 PM: Women's Health: Nutrition, Cancer & Chronic Disease - Kathy Chauncy, PhD, RD & Betsy Goebel Jones, EdD - Family Medicine, TTUHSC  (CME credit: 1.0 hour)
  • 12-12:30 PM: Lunch
  • 12:30-1 PM: Topics in Rural Health - Kelly Klein MD & Kit Linton MD, Moderators - Family Medicine, TTUHSC  (CME credit: 0.5 hour)
  • 1-2:45 PM: Overview and Management of Mood, Anxiety and Substance Use Disorders for the Family Physician - Terry McMahon MD, Stephen Manning MD & Elizabeth Davidson MD - TTUHSC Department of Psychiatry  (CME credit: 1.75 hours)
  • 3-4 PM: The Red Eye: Essentials in Ophthalmology for the Family Physician - Kelly Mitchell, MD - Associate Professor of Ophthalmology, TTUHSC  (CME credit: 1.0 hour)
  • 4-5 PM: Ethical Issues in Healthcare Quality - R. Michael Ragain MD - Professor of Family Medicine, TTUHSC and Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, University Medical Center  (CME credit: 1 hour ethics and/or professional responsibility)
  • 6 PM: Buffet Dinner with Football on the Big Screen

Printable Version of the CME 2011 Information Flyer

Registration materials will be mailed the week of September 12.- For more information contact a member of the CME 2011 Committee:

Ron Cook, DO, Family Medicine Interim Chair

Evelyn McPherson, Family & Community Medicine Administrator

Jennifer Mitchell, MD, Associate Professor & Sports Medicine Fellowship Director

Fred Onger, MD, Assistant Professor & Residency Program Director

Betsy G. Jones, EdD, Professor & Regional Director Laura W. Bush Institute for Women's Health