TTUHSC School of Medicine
HomeSchool of Medicine

2013 Chancellor's Council Awards

School of Medicine Faculty Honored

The Texas Tech University System Chancellor's Council recently recognized the most innovative and dedicated faculty throughout the system with its highest honors.  Three faculty members from the TTUHSC School of Medicine have been recognized for their achievements.

Distinguished Research Award


Guillermo Altenberg, Ph.D.

Guillermo Altenberg is a professor and vice chairman of the Department of Cell Physiology & Molecular Biophysics at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. Joining the university in 2007, his research has solved the crystal structure of a nucleotide-binding domain dimer, developed a novel spectroscopic technique and secured more than $4.4 million in external grants from the National Institutes of Health, the American Heart Association, the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas and many others. An author of 57 published papers and 13 reviews and book chapters, Altenberg received his Ph.D. and medical degree from the University of Buenos Aires in Argentina.






Ina L. Urbatsch, Ph.D.

Ina L. Urbatsch is an associate professor in the Department of Cell Biology & Biochemistry at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. Securing nearly $3.8 million in external funding including grants through the National Institutes of Health, the Department of Defense and the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, her research examines transmembrane proteins associated with many human disorders such as cystic fibrosis and multidrug resistance (MDR) of cancers. Based on her expertise in protein engineering and to produce large amounts of recombinant protein in vitro, Urbatsch's lab has led the way on structural characterization of MDR transporters. Her work has resulted in 41 peer reviewed papers in high impact journals, including in collaboration with the Chang laboratory, a Science paper on the structure of P-Glycoprotein, the first ever structure of a mammalian ATP-binding cassette transporter that has been cited more than 500 times in just four years. Urbatsch joined the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences in 2003 and received her Ph.D. in chemistry and biochemistry from the University of Kaiserslautern in Germany.



Distinguished Commercialization Award


Ted W. Reid, Ph.D.

Ted Reid is a professor and vice chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences and serves as the director of Ocular Cell Biology at the Lubbock campus of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. A founding scientist of the company Selenium, Ltd, Reid co-developed a technology called SeLect that prevents the formation of biofilms and the spread of infectious bacteria when added to polymer surfaces and medical devices. Protected by seven issued patents and multiple U.S. and international patent applications, SeLect helps save lives, offers cellular control across industries and cuts medical and other expenses. With TTUHSC for more than two decades, Reid received his bachelor's degree from Occidental College in Los Angeles, his master's degree from the University of Arizona and his Ph.D. from the University of California at Los Angeles.