TTUHSC School of Medicine
HomeSchool of MedicinePharmacology and Neuroscience

Translational Neuroscience and Pharmacology

Graduate and Medical Student Awards

Alexander D. Kenny Award for Excellence in Pharmacology and Neuroscience

Dr. Kenny came to the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center as Professor and Chairman of the Department of Pharmacology in 1976. Over the subsequent seventeen years, he led the Department, striving for excellence in research, teaching, and service. He always stressed that the Medical Pharmacology Course was the Department's first priority. In his honor, the department has established this award. It is presented to the top medical student in each year's Medical Pharmacology course. The past recipients are listed below.

Following the restructuring of the medical curriculum the Medical Student Award was discontinued in 2005. In 2007, we reconstituted the award to be given when the faculty have determined that a Ph.D. student has met our standard of him/her as an outstanding graduate student.

Akash Pandhare 2013
Ayman K. Hamouda, Ph.D. 2007
Keelie Tucker and Christopher Souder (tie) 2004
Justin Bishop  2003
Michelle Tarbox 2002
Bethany Reed 2001
Frederick Severs 2000
Nabil S. Qadri 1999
Jesse Olmedo 1998
Gary Thomas Marshall 1997
John Kennedy Bini 1996
Michael Steinmetz 1995