TTUHSC School of Medicine
HomeSchool of MedicinePharmacology and NeuroscienceFaculty

Pharmacology and Neuroscience

Departmental Leadership

Volker Neugebauer

Volker Neugebauer, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor and Chair

Emotional-affective and cognitive brain mechanisms in pain and neuropsychiatric disorders. Neuroplasticity in the amygdala.

email: volker.neugebauer@ttuhsc.edu 

Blanton

Michael P. Blanton, Ph.D.

Professor and Vice-Chair

Structural analysis of ligand gated channels

email: michael.blanton@ttuhsc.edu 

 


Faculty

Khalid BenamarKhalid Benamar, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Pharmacology of the analgesic and abuse-related effects of opioids. Neurobehavioral effects of drugs of abuse (opioids, cannabinoids, MDMA), especially in the context of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)

email: khalid.benamar@ttuhsc.edu

Susan E. BergesonSusan E. Bergeson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Genetics and molecular neurobiology of alcohol abuse and alcoholism

email: susan.bergeson@ttuhsc.edu 

Josee GuinidonJosee Guindon, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Behavioral pharmacology, immunohistochemistry, molecular biology (RT-PCR, Western blot), animal pain models (inflammatory, neuropathic, surgical), modulation of pain pathways (exercise, etc), kidney physiological pathways

email: josee.guindon@ttuhsc.edu

George HendersonGeorge I. Henderson, Ph.D.

Professor

Alcohol, environmental toxins, neurons, glia, apoptosis, oxidative stress

email: george.henderson@ttuhsc.edu 

JiGuangchen Ji, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor

Electrophysiological single-cell recordings in different brain areas and various behavioral assays to correlate neuronal activity with pain-related behavior

email: guangchen.ji@ttuhsc.edu

Lenin MahimainathanLenin Mahimainathan, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor

Role of PDCD4 in alcohol induced neurodegeneration, and significance of PDCD4 in early development

email: lenin.mahimainathan@ttuhsc.edu

R. Lisa PoppR. Lisa Popp, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Pharmacology and physiology of n-methyl-d-aspartete receptors

email: lisa.popp@ttuhsc.edu

Ali RoghaniAli Roghani, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Molecular biology of vesicular transporters

email: ali.roghani@ttuhsc.edu 

 


 

Emeritus Faculty

Reid L. NormanReid L. Norman, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Reproductive neuroendocrinology

email: reid.norman@ttuhsc.edu

 

Peter J. SyapinPeter J. Syapin, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Effects on CNS gene expression and regulation

email: peter.syapin@ttuhsc.edu

 

©