TTUHSC School of Medicine
HomeSchool of MedicineCell Physiology and Molecular BiophysicsNews

Cell Physiology and Molecular Biophysics


Dr. Cuello Selected Teacher of the Year

Dr. Luis Cuello has been selected Outstanding Teacher of the Year by the GSBS student, for the second consecutive year. Congratulations, Dr. Cuello!

Dean's Awards to Distinguished Faculty

We received notice that three of our distinguished faculty will be receiving awards at the 2012 Annual Dean's Appreciation Dinner. The awardees include: Dr. Luis Cuello for Research (this is the first time the Stocco Award has been given), Dr. Michaela Jansen for Special Services to the Department, and Dr. Lorenz O. Lutherer for Teaching, First Year School or Medicine.

Dr. Guan Receives Promotion

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Lan Guan, who has been promoted to Associate Professor.

Dr. Cuello Receives Teacher of the Year Award

Dr. Luis Cuello was selected by first year students for the Core Curriculum Student Advocate and Teach of the Year award.

Dr. Guan Received Grant

Dr. Lan Guan has offically been notified of funding of her National Science Foundation grant. Congrats, Dr. Guan!

Dr. Cuello Awarded RO1 NIH Grant

Dr. Luis Cuello has been awarded an RO1 NIH Gratn, due to start April 1, 2012. Congratulations!

Dr. Guan to Receive Dean's Research Award

Dr. Lan Guan has been selected to receive the 2011 Dean’s Research Award from the Lubbock TTUHSC School of Medicine.  This will be presented at the annual Faculty Appreciation Dinner in May.

Dr. Altenberg Promoted to Professor

At their last meeting, the Board of Regents approved the promotion of Dr. Guillermo A. Altenberg to Professor, effective September 1, 2011. Congratulations, Dr. Altenberg!

Dr. Reuss wins Chancellor's Award

Dr. Luis Reuss received the Chancellor's Council Distinguished Research Award on Dec. 10.

CPMB faculty awarded American Heart Association grants

Two CPMB Assistant Professors, Luis Cuello and Jose Perez-Zoghbi, received 4-year American Heart Association National Awards, a NCRP Fall 2010 Scientist Development Grant, for the period of Jan 1, 2011 through Dec. 31, 2014 with funding of $77,000 per year for a total of $385,000 to each PI.

Dr. Cuello's project is titled Molecular basis of the hERG channel C-type inactivation: crystallographic and functional studies on a KcsA-hERG chimera.

Dr. Perez-Zoghbi's project is called Mechanisms of Smooth Muscle Contraction in Small Pulmonary Arteries in Health and Disease.

Dr. Pablo Artigas publishes article

Dr. Pablo Artigas was published in Proceedings of the National Academy of Science, USA in the October 11, 2010 issue. The article was called Selectivity of externally facing ion-biding sites in the Na/K pump to alkali metals and organic cations, by Ratheal IM, Virgin GK, Yu H, Roux B, Gatto C, Artigas P.

Dr. Lan Guan receives NIH grant

Dr. Lan Guan received an NIH grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences. She was awarded $300,000 per year for four years from September of 2011 through July of 2014. Her project title is Novel capture reagents for membrane protein structure determination.

Drs. Jansen and Blanton receive South Plains Foundation grant

A South Plains Foundation grant was awarded to Dr. Michaela Jansen, Assistant Professor of CPMB and Co-PI Michael Blanton, Professor of Pharmacology and Neuroscience.  Their project is called Novel Drug Discovery: Positive Allosteric Modulators of the α7 Nicotinic Acetylcholine Receptor. They will receive $15k for a research period from Sept. 1, 2010 until Aug. 31, 2011.

Previous News Items

Archived News Items 2006 - 2007

Archived News Items 2004 - 2005

Archived News Items 2002 - 2003

Archived News Items 2000 - 2001

Archived News Items 1998 - 1999

Contact Information:
Cindy Rolfe, Administrator
Department of Cell Physiology
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
3601 4th Street at Indiana Avenue
Lubbock, TX 79430-6551