TTUHSC School of Pharmacy
HomeSOPAdministrationRegional DeansOffice of the Abilene Regional Dean

Abilene Regional Dean's Office

Cindy RaehlCynthia Raehl, Pharm.D., was the founding Chair (1996) for the Department of Pharmacy Practice at the nation’s first new publicly funded pharmacy school in more than 50 years – the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) School of Pharmacy. She took the reigns as Regional Dean of the TTUHSC School of Pharmacy Abilene campus July 1, 2013.

As chair and professor, Dr. Raehl was responsible for the design, development and maturation of the Department of Pharmacy Practice. The Department includes Managed Health Care and Correctional Health Care Operations, Patient Care Services Operations (two community pharmacies), Continuing Education Office, Drug Information Center and the Texas Panhandle Poison Center.

In September 2004, Dr. Raehl assumed responsibility for further developing the department's clinical sciences and research capabilities while maintaining her responsibility for the Adult Medicine, Clinical Sciences and Research and Geriatrics Divisions across all School of Pharmacy campuses campuses. In this capacity, she worked to develop strategic alliances focused on enhancing the clinical translational research enterprise for the department, the school and the university.

Prior to moving to Texas in 1996, Dr. Raehl was a professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Pharmacy. She earned national recognition for her expertise in cardiovascular pharmacotherapy, geriatrics, health literacy in elders and health systems research. Dr. Raehl is one of a handful of pharmacists to serve on a FDA advisory committee – Cardiovascular and Renal Drugs. She also served on the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) Expert Committee on Cardiovascular and Renal Drugs (2000-2005) and was a consultant to the FDA Center for Drug Evaluation. In addition, Dr. Raehl served on the 2008 USP Health Literacy and Prescription Container Labeling Ad hoc Advisory Panel.

Along with her husband, Dr. C.A. Bond (deceased), Dr. Raehl is internationally recognized for health services research focused on the outcomes associated with hospital-affiliated clinical pharmacy services. Their 20-year study of more than 1,000 U.S. hospitals demonstrated the associations of clinical pharmacists with reductions in mortality rates, total costs of care, lengths of stay, drug costs and medication errors. Their data was the catalyst to fundamental change in the United Kingdom’s National Health Service structure for pharmacy services and is cited in the U.S. Congressional debate on Medicare reform and the Joint Commission on National Patient Safety Goals initiative. Dr. Raehl’s recently funded research projects emanate from the National Science Foundation and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

From 2007-2008, Dr. Raehl served as president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy – the national association for faculty and administrators from the nation’s 130+ accredited schools and colleges of pharmacy. From 1994-1995, she served as president of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), a group that represents the more than 30,000 pharmacists practicing in integrated health systems. During her career, Dr. Raehl has received many awards, including: the 2006 Texans Caring for Texans Award; the ASHP Research and Education Foundation Research Award (six times); Teacher of the Year Award (three times); the National Award of Merit from the Kappa Epsilon Fraternity; and Past President and Pharmacist of the Year ( from the Wisconsin Society of Hospital Pharmacists. She is also a lifetime honorary member of the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists and a fellow of ASHP and the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, a national organization of clinical pharmacology healthcare professionals.

Office of the Regional Dean

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Pharmacy

1718 Pine Street Abilene, Texas 79601

(325) 696-0404


Additional Contact Information:

Name Campus/Room Phone No. Position Email Address
Melissa L. Edwards ABI/1003 (325) 696-0404 Unit Coordinator
Cynthia Raehl, Pharm.D., FASHP, FCCP ABI/1004 (325) 696-0405 Regional Dean-Abilene, Professor