TTUHSC School of Pharmacy
HomeSOPFacultyFaculty Self-GovernanceStudent Affairs Committee

Student Affairs Committee

Per the School of Pharmacy Bylaws, May 15, 2018.


The Student Affairs Committee (SAC) is comprised of one member of the Executive Committee, appointed by the Dean, who serves as an Ex Officio member without vote who functions as a liaison to the Executive Committee. The Dean also appoints one member of the faculty from each academic department; five faculty members selected at-large from the entire faculty and two practicing pharmacists, who are not paid faculty members of the SOP. One professional pharmacy student from each class are elected by the Pharmacy Student Council and serve for one year.


The Student Affairs Committee serves as the standing faculty committee to develop policy and to make recommendations to the faculty pertaining to standards for professional pharmacy student recruitment and admission to the existing program, and for academic standards required for curricular progressions and completion. This committee also establishes and recommends standards for the awarding of professional pharmacy student scholarships, awards and prizes, and shall supervise such awards.

According to the Buckley Amendment, i.e., Family and Educational Right to Privacy Act (FERPA), student and practitioner members of this committee do not have access to students' records, and do not participate in student grievance and progressions procedures.
Student and practitioner members of this committee may participate in interviewing students, submitting written recommendations to the committee, and contributing to nominations for student awards.

To accomplish the work in the several areas of student affairs, this committee is divided into subcommittees under the direction of subcommittee Chairs to consider the natural divisions of student admissions, academic progressions and awarding scholarships and student awards.

The Admissions Subcommittee is comprised of the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and all members of the SAC. The Assistant Dean for Student Affairs shall serve as permanent secretary for this Subcommittee. This Subcommittee shall review all applicants for admissions to the professional programs of the SOP, conduct interviews, and make recommendations to the Dean regarding the admission of students.

The Student Credentialing Subcommittee is comprised of the Assistant Dean for Student Affairs, who serves as the permanent secretary of the Subcommittee, and four faculty members, with at least one from each academic department. The Student Affairs Committee Chair appoints the subcommittee Chair.

This subcommittee reviews the credentials of applicants for advanced standing in one of the professional programs of the SOP and recommend to the Student Affairs Committee the appropriate placement of students within the curriculum.
This subcommittee annually reviews each professional student for satisfactory progression through the curriculum, considering the report and recommendations of the Student Assessment of Learning Committee. This subcommittee shall recommend to the Student Affairs Committee the status of each professional student, either for continuance, continuance with remediation, probation for one year with remediation, suspension or dismissal. The Student Affairs Committee shall make its recommendation to the Dean by June 1of each year regarding each student enrolled in the SOP.

The Student Awards Subcommittee is comprised of five faculty members, with at least one from each academic department. The Chair of the Student Affairs Committee appoints the subcommittee Chair. This subcommittee seeks nominations and applications for student awards, including School administered scholarships, cash awards and other awards for achievement, and recommend recipients to SAC. The SAC shall identify students for each award and recommend the recipients to the Dean.


Standing committees shall keep and approve all minutes of meetings. The Dean's office representative shall be responsible for the timely preparation of the minutes. The committee shall submit minutes to be posted on the committee webpage within 48 hours of approval. When accepted and approved by committee membership, minutes shall be distributed to the Executive Committee through the designated liaison.

When such minutes include a specific recommendation or policy for faculty consideration, the Executive Committee shall communicate recommendations to the standing committee within 30 working days after receipt. This paragraph is not intended to preclude the Chair of a standing committee to make recommendations on policy changes to the faculty that may not conform to the recommendations of the Executive Committee.

Committee Members

(Click any name below to send an email to that member.)
Name Position
Jamie McCarrell Chair
Joel Epps Chair-Elect
Fakhrul Ahsan
Tiffany Coomer
Jennifer Grelle
Pratip Mitra Member
Debra Notturno-Strong Member
Sanjay Srivastava Member
Valerie Vuylsteke Member
Lori Campbell Community Member
Randy Martin Community Member
Summer Balcer Ex Officio Member


Meetings by Date


May 9, 2014 - (Agenda) (Minutes)




Scholarship Committee


February 4, 2016 (Agenda) (Minutes)