TTUHSC School of Pharmacy
HomeSOPPharmacy Practice

Pharmacy Practice



Mission and Vision

Mission: Our purpose is to enhance the lives of patients through innovation and excellence in education, practice, and research.

Vision: The Department of Pharmacy Practice strives for excellence in clinical practice, education and service. We embrace scholarship as a means to further the profession. Our graduates are the most qualified pharmacists to fulfill or exceed the demands of a rapidly changing... [MORE]

Message from the Chair

The Department of Pharmacy Practice at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center is the largest and most diverse of the four departments at the School of Pharmacy (SOP). With 65 faculty located in four Texas communities... [MORE]

News and Announcements

  • ttuhsc_sign

    Drs. Krystal Haase, Young Lee, and Jennifer Grelle

    Were recently recognized by students as members of the P2 Teaching Team of the Year for their role in teaching the Infectious Diseases Pharmacotherapy Course.

  • Shah

    Dr. Sachin Shah

    Received the P3 Teaching Team of the Year Award as a member of the Oncology Pharmacotherapy course team.

  • Seifert

    Dr. Charles Seifert

    Was recognized by students as Outstanding P3 Teacher of the Year. Dr. Seifert educates third-year pharmacy students in the GI/Hepatic/Nutrition Pharmacotherapy and Clinical Toxicology Courses.

  • Tawwater

    Dr. Chris Tawwater

    Congratulations to Dr. Chris Tawwater, who was recognized as the TTUHSC Student Senate Outstanding Teacher of the Year.

  • Ibach

    Dr. Bethany Ibach

    Shared her research, “Characterization of tolerance in critically-ill children receiving fentanyl continuous infusions." at the 2015 SCCM Annual Congress in Phoenix, Arizona.

  • Luedtke

    Dr. Sherry Luedtke – Teaching Accomplishments

    Presented a webinar program for PPAG and ASHP program proposal invited reviewer.

  • MacLaughlin

    Dr. Eric MacLaughlin

    Was appointed to the American Society of Hypertension (ASH) Task Force to Designate NPs, PAs and PharmDs as Hypertension Specialists.

  • Robles

    Dr. Janie Robles

    Was presented the Lewis S. Smith Pharmacy PractitionerAward by the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists. This award recognizes pharmacists who demonstrate exemplary patient care and exceptional relationships with other healthcare professionals.

  • Hall

    Dr. Ron Hall

    Published a review article,Profile of tedizolid phosphate and its potential in the treatment of acute bacterial skin
and skin structure infections.” in Infection and Drug Resistance (2015;8:75-82) in collaboration with recent Pharm.D. graduate, Dr. Heidi Michaels.

  • Mahan

    Dr. Becky Mahan

    Recently served on the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists Revision Committee that developed the third edition of the Geriatric Curriculum Guide

  • Mathys

    Dr. Monica Mathys – Published

    "Psychiatric Disorders" book chapter in Fundamentals of Geriatric Pharmacotherapy, 2nd edition - and - "Effect of pharmacy students as primary pharmacy members on inpatient interdisciplinary mental health teams." in the April 15th issue of AJHP. This project included several students.

  • Sleeper-Irons

    Dr. Rebecca Sleeper - Accomplishments

    Invited by ASHP to serve on a four-member panel to write the ASHP position statement.

    Textbook Fundamentals of Geriatric Pharmacotherapy, 2nd edition was published.

    Was invited by AACP to do a workshop on the incorporation of required Geriatrics curricula.

  • Mathys

    Dr. Amie Blaszczyk – Accomplishments

    Co-chaired the 3rd revision of the ASCP Geriatric Curriculum Guide.

    Published “The Central Nervous System” book chapter in Fundamentals of Geriatric Pharmacotherapy, 2nd edition.

    Was awarded a $2500 teaching seed grant from the TTUHSC Faculty Development office.

  • Cox

    Dr. Craig Cox – Teaching Accomplishments

    Received one of two honorable mentions in the 2015 AACP Innovations in Teaching Competition.

    Was invited to help lead the Experiential Standards Section of the AACP Institute on the new ACPE 2016 standards (in May)

  • Cox

    Dr. Cox Presented with Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Teaching Award

    Craig Cox, Pharm.D., received the Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Teaching Award Jan. 12 during a ceremony at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in Lubbock.