TTUHSC School of Pharmacy

Research Advisory Committee

Research Advisory Committee Members 2016-2017

All appointments effective September 1, 2016 through August 31, 2017.

Member Department Phone No. Email Address
Ulrich Bickel, MD, Chair Pharmaceutical Sciences/Amarillo 806-414-9236
Sara Brouse, Pharm.D. Pharmacy Practice/Dallas 325-696-0559
Constantinos Mikelis, Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences/ Amarillo 806-414-9242
Magdalena Karbowniczek, Ph.D. Immunotherapeutics and
Richard Leff, Pharm.D.,
Ex Officio
Pharmacy Practice/Dallas 214-358-9012
Steven Pass, Pharm.D. Pharmacy Practice/Dallas 214-358-9054
Sanjay K. Srivastava, Ph.D.,
Ex Officio
Office of Sciences, Biomedical Sciences/Amarillo 806-414-9211
Paul Trippier, Ph.D., Past Chair Pharmaceutical Sciences/Amarillo 806-414-9237
Ming Hai Wang, M.D., Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences/Amarillo 806-414-9245

Research Advisory Committee Bylaws

  1. The membership of the Research Advisory Committee shall include:
    1. One member of the Executive Committee who shall serve as an Ex Officio member without vote and functions as a liaison to the Executive Committee. The Dean shall appoint the Ex Officio member.
    2. One faculty member from each academic department in the School of Pharmacy and three faculty selected at-large from the entire faculty. Committee members shall have active research programs. Neither the Dean of the School of Pharmacy nor the academic department chairs are eligible for appointment to the committee.
  2. The Research Advisory Committee shall serve as the standing committee of the faculty to foster, promote and assess research endeavors. Specific activities include, but are not limited to:
    1. Evaluating the Office of Research sponsored grants and advising the Associate Dean for Sciences on Internal Funding.
    2. Organizing the School of Pharmacy Research Days, with the assistance of the Office of Sciences. Working together as a program committee (i.e. identifying podium presenters, event dates, other activities, etc.).
    3. Evaluating SOP research policies as needed. Making recommendations to these documents.
    4. Fostering activities and identifying individuals that will increase the School's Research Profile within the Amarillo area and throughout all TTUHSC campuses (i.e. workshops, research seminars, speakers, retreats or other structured activities).
    5. Engaging in the facilitation of extramural funding and evaluation of research productivity of the faculty.
    6. Evaluating Centers for Excellences and making recommendations to the Office of Research on the progress of the program as well as future funding.
    7. Assisting in any necessary IRB and IACUC affairs.
  3. The minutes of the Research Advisory Committee will be reported to the faculty as specified in Article II, Section B, paragraph 5.

Meetings by date.