Task Force on Anti-Terrorism & Public Security

mission - members - first report - second report - aaua presentation
resources - press releases - home


CHAIR - Victoria Sutton, J.D., Ph.D., Professor, School of Law, is an expert on public policy and anti-terrorism and is the former assistant director of the White House Science Office.

Steven Berk, M.D., Regional Dean at the School of Medicine in Amarillo is trained in internal medicine and is an expert in infectious diseases and has served on an NIH panel on the development of new vaccines.

Ron Kendall, Ph.D., Director, Institute for Environmental and Human Health, has been directing the Institute's ongoing projects related to biological and chemical warfare.

Ronald Kennedy, Ph.D., Chairman, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Texas Tech School of Medicine, and has extensive experience in the areas of virology, immunology, and emerging disease agents that represent BioSafety level (BSL) 3 and 4 containment pathogen.

William M. Marcy, Ph.D., P.E., Dean, College of Engineering, Texas Tech University, has an engineering background that includes electrical engineering, computer engineering and computer science. With the CIA from 1966 to 1974, he also served as Deputy Directory of the Interagency Training Center, which provided technical security training for all U.S. Government agencies with security responsibilities for U.S. Government facilities outside the United States.

Judy Barnes Oskam, Ed.D., Associate Professor, School of Mass Communications has conducted research on public awareness, media usage, and risk communication for the United States Department of Energy's Amarillo National Resource Center for Plutonium related to health and environmental issues

Jerry Spencer, JD, MD, Director, Department of Forensic Pathology, Texas Tech Schools of Medicine is the Chief Medical Examiner for Lubbock County and has 30 yeas of experience in the US Navy that included extensive experience with the investigation of terrorist attacks including the conduct of autopsies on the victims of the attack on the USS Cole.

Horn Professor Henryk Temkin, Ph.D., Department of Electrical Engineering is director of the Micro Systems Center and internationally recognized as a materials research scientist.

Dr. Abraham Verghese, Grover E. Murray Distinguished Professor of Medicine on the El Paso campus of the Texas Tech School of Medicine has a particular interest in medicine and the humanities and has published extensively on medical and social issues.

Copyright 2001 Texas Tech University
TTU Compliance with the Digital Millennium Copyright Act
TTU Privacy Policy