

## News Release

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

November 7, 2018 CONTACT: Suzanna Cisneros, suzanna.cisneros@ttuhsc.edu (806) 743-1466

## TTUHSC School of Nursing Dean Recognized for Outstanding Service by American Nurses Credentialing Center

The American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) presented its prestigious Margretta Madden Styles President's Award to Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) School of Nursing Dean Michael Evans, Ph.D., R.N., NEA-BC, FACHE, FAAN. The award recognizing his outstanding eight years of service as ANCC president, board member, and board director was announced Oct. 25 at the National Magnet Conference in Denver.

"Dr. Evans presided over the growth of ANCC from a national credentialing organization to a global force that exemplifies nursing excellence," said ANCC President Patricia Reid Ponte, D.N.Sc., R.N. "Through his vision and leadership, the breadth, depth and value of ANCC's programs have advanced global credentialing for nurses around the world. It is a distinct privilege and pleasure to honor him with this well-deserved award."

"As a former hospital chief nursing officer and esteemed educator and dean, your in-depth knowledge frequently brought important insights to our board discussions," Ponte stated in a letter congratulating Evans.

"Dr. Evans is very deserving of this award," said Texas Tech University System Chancellor and TTUHSC President Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D. "Under his leadership, our School of Nursing has gained nationwide recognition for the excellence of its programs and graduates. He is a consummate professional and an exemplary leader."

In addition to his two terms as ANCC president, Evans served as president of the Texas Nurses Association and spent eight years on the board of directors of the American Nurses Association, where he was secretary and treasurer.

The Margretta Madden Styles President's Award recognizes exceptional leaders who have partnered with the ANCC president to advance the mission, vision and strategic goal of the American Nurses Credentialing Center. Honorees are selected by the president and given only when recognition is warranted.

## For more breaking news and experts, follow @ttuhscnews on Twitter.

Office of Communications