

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

December 17, 2021

CONTACT: Suzanna Cisneros, Suzanna.cisneros@ttuhsc.edu

(806) 773-4242

TTUHSC Pharmacy Professor Named President-Elect of American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy

Craig Cox, Pharm. D., was named president-elect of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP). The AACP is the national organization representing pharmacy education in the United States.

Cox is a professor of pharmacy practice and vice chair for experiential programs at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy. He also serves as an ex officio member of the Curricular Affairs Committee and continuing education, as well as chair of the Preceptor Advisory Council.

"Dr. Cox has extensive experience at the local, state, national and international levels representing our school as well as the pharmacy profession, and he will provide valuable perspectives as president of the AACP," said Quentin Smith, Pharm.D., dean of the TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy. "This is a tremendous honor for him and for our school."

According to the AACP, pharmacy is the third largest health profession – after nursing and medicine – with more than 300,000 clinicians practicing in community-based practices, hospitals/health systems and many other health care settings.

The AACP provides leadership in enhancing the quality of education and training in its member institutions, which includes the 142 schools of pharmacy accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education as well as individual members.

Cox will begin a three-year term as president July 2022.