

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Sept. 11, 2024

CONTACT: Suzanna Cisneros, Suzanna.cisneros@ttuhsc.edu

(806) 773-4242

Gov. Abbott Appoints TTUHSC's Varma to Texas Medical Board District Three Review Committee

Gov. Greg Abbott has appointed Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center's (TTUHSC) Surendra Varma, M.D., to the Texas Medical Board (TMB) District Three Review Committee for a term set to expire January 15, 2026.

Varma is TTUHSC's executive associate dean for graduate medical education, a Grover E. Murray Professor and the Ted Hartman Endowed Chair in Medical Education. He recently received recognition from TTUHSC for 50 years of service to the university.

"We have been fortunate to have Dr. Varma and his dedication to academic medicine for 50 years at our university, not only in this leadership role at the School of Medicine but as an excellent physician for our patients," John C. DeToledo, TTUHSC executive vice president for clinical affairs and School of Medicine dean, said. "He has a great commitment to medicine, and he will bring a wealth of expertise to the Texas Medical Board Three Review Committee."

Varma is an associate editor for Advances in Pediatrics, an editorial board member for the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, and a member of the American Pediatric Society, the Society for Pediatric Research, Endocrine Society and the Council on Graduate Medical Education for the Health Resources and Services Administration. He also is a member and former president of the American Diabetes Association, and a member and former Texas affiliate chair of endocrinology for the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Previously, Varma served as a gubernatorial appointee on the TMB District Three Review Committee for six years, TMB for five years and the Task Force on Infectious Disease Preparedness and Response for four years.

Varma received a Bachelor of Science in physics, chemistry, biology and English from the University of Lucknow, as well as a Bachelor of Medicine, a Bachelor of Surgery and a Doctor of Medicine in Pediatrics from King George Medical University (KGMU). He received an honorary Doctorate (DSc) from KGMU and an Honorary Fellowship (FRCP) from Royal College of Physicians.