

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

January 17, 2025

CONTACT: Suzanna Cisneros, Suzanna.cisneros@ttuhsc.edu

(806) 773-4242

TTUHSC Faculty Receive Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching and Research Awards

<u>Texas Tech University System</u> (TTU System) Chancellor Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., <u>Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center</u> (TTUHSC) President Lori Rice-Spearman, Ph.D., and TTUHSC Provost and Chief Academic Officer Darrin D'Agostino, D.O., presented the 2025 Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching and Research Awards today (Jan. 17).

Recognizing academic excellence, the honors are the most prestigious awards granted to faculty throughout the TTU System.

"Faculty members at the Texas Tech University System set the standard of excellence across higher education," Mitchell said. "Our faculty members are innovators, collaborators, teachers and mentors who transform lives and create solutions for the challenges facing our state, nation and world. It is an honor to recognize this year's Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching and Research Awards awardees, and we look forward to celebrating their continued success."

The Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Awards recognize faculty members for teaching excellence, as demonstrated by their attainment of distinction both within and beyond the institution for exceptional teaching and significant contributions to the field of education. The Chancellor's Council Distinguished Research Awards recognize outstanding research, scholarship and creative achievements of faculty members in the developmental stages of their careers.

"These individuals are outstanding educators and researchers who inspire our students, push the boundaries of knowledge and leave a lasting impact on their fields," Rice-Spearman said. "These awards highlight their dedication to academic excellence and innovation. We are so proud of their achievements and grateful to have them as part of our university family."

TTUHSC honorees include:

2025 Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award:

Susan Bergeson, Ph.D., a University Distinguished Professor and Kayla Weitlauf, M.D. Memorial Endowed Professor for Women's Health in the School of Medicine

Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry, director of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Biotechnology Master's Program, which she expanded to the Abilene campus. Bergeson also helped develop innovative dual-degree programs with Texas Tech University's (TTU) School of Law and Rawls College of Business.

Bergeson has been a research mentor emphasizing critical thinking and bridging basic science with real-world clinical applications. She received more than \$13 million National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism funding for her research, which focuses on Alcohol Use Disorder with an emphasis on sex differences and drug development.

Sarai Granados, M.S., an assistant professor of practice in the School of Health Professions' Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences Program, developed interprofessional collaborations (IPE), including a groundbreaking partnership with the TTUHSC Institute of Anatomical Sciences.

Granados has advanced interprofessional education through her pioneering clinic for children with feeding disorders and food aversions utilizing a co-treatment therapy framework between speech-language pathology and occupational therapy students. She presented on this program at both state and national levels, promoting innovative approaches to IPE and enhancing TTUHSC's visibility and reputation as a leader in collaborative education.

Krystal K. Haase, Pharm.D., a professor in the Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy Department of Pharmacy Practice and the school's Regional Dean at Amarillo, is a board-certified specialist in pharmacotherapy. Haase has served as a preceptor for pharmacy students and residents and established 15 new residency programs across four TTUHSC campuses.

Haase established the innovative PGY1/PGY2 Pharmacotherapy Residency and directed it for 15 years, training residents who have advanced into prominent roles in academia, clinical practice and health care leadership. She also led the creation of the school's hybrid Pioneer Pathway curriculum, the first of its kind in Texas.

2025 Chancellor's Council Distinguished Research Award

Luis G. Cuello, Ph.D., a professor at the TTUHSC School of Medicine Department of Cell Physiology and Molecular Biophysics and director of the university's Membrane Protein Core Laboratory, is renowned for his groundbreaking research in ion channel structure and function. Cuello developed innovative approaches to studying membrane protein dynamics, which will contribute to the smart design of safer and more effective therapeutic drugs. His research has resulted in 44 peer-reviewed articles, including papers in Nature, Science Advances and Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

Cuello has earned more than \$6 million in extramural funding, including a prestigious National Institutes of Health (NIH) Maximizing Investigators' Research Award and continuous funding by the NIH as a principal investigator since 2012.