TTUHSC School of Pharmacy

Office of Sciences


NEWSFLASH:         Research Days 2015


CCR cover Dr. Ming Hai-Wang, Professor in the Department of Biomedical Sciences, and his team’s recent publication, "Efficacy of Anti-RON Antibody Zt/g4–Drug Maytansinoid Conjugation (Anti-RON ADC) as a Novel Therapeutics for Targeted Colorectal Cancer Therapy," was published in the December 1, 2014 edition of the journal, Clinical Cancer Research.
 (Impact Factor 8.193)... READ ARTICLE

Dr. Wei Wang, Research Assistant Professor and Dr. Ruiwen Zhang, Professor, and their team identified a new anticancer agent that targets the cancer-causing gene MDM2, which is linked to poor response to treatment in breast cancer patients. The study, The Pyrido indole MDM2 Inhibitor SP-141 Exerts Potent Therapeutic Effects in Breast Cancer Models, indicates that SP-141 is a novel targeted therapeutic agent that may especially benefit patients with advanced breast cancer. The article was accepted for publishing in the journal, Nature Communications (Impact Factor 10.742)... READ ARTICLE

ACS cover Dr. Ruiwen Zhang, Professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, and his team identified a new class of MDM2 inhibitor called SP141, which may be further developed as a therapy for pancreatic cancer. The study, Identification of a New Class of MDM2 Inhibitor that Inhibits Growth of Orthotopic Pancreatic Tumors in Mice, was just accepted for publishing in the journal Gastroenterology (Impact Factor 13.926). READ ARTICLE


Dr. Fakhrul Ahsan - NIH R01 National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute - Targetable and Inhalable Nanoparticle Based Combination Therapy for PAH

New Grants and Awards - Spring 2015

  • Dr. Aristotelis Astreinidis – University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine Orphan Disease Center Pilot Grant
  • Dr. Richard Leff – Department of Defense / UT Southwestern Subaward
  • Dr. Paul Trippier – UT Southwestern Translational Pilot Grant
  • Dr. Abraham Al-Ahmad – BD Biosciences Stem Cell Grant


2014 AAPS Pharmaceutical Research Outstanding Manuscript Award

PhR cover Quentin Smith, Professor in the Pharmaceutical Sciences Department and Dean of the School of Pharmacy, and Ramakrishna Samala, Kunal S. Taskar, Vinay Rudraraju, Rajendar K. Mittapalli, Helen R. Thorsheim, Julie Lockman, Brunilde Gril, Emily Hua, Diane Palmieri, Joseph W. Polli, Stephen Castellino, Stephen D. Rubin, Paul R. Lockman, and Patricia S. Steeg will be honored for the manuscript titled: Lapatinib Distribution in HER2 Overexpressing Experimental Brain Metastases of Breast Cancer. AAPS photo The team will be formally recognized during the Opening Session of the 2014 AAPS Annual Meeting & Exposition held at the San Diego Convention Center in San Diego, California, on November 2, 2014. READ ARTICLE


Download Free Adobe Reader Get Adobe Reader Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view items marked with this icon:
Please click on the left image to download the free version.