About | Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

three SOP students in hallway

The School of Pharmacy was established in 1993, it was then named in 2019 to honor Amarillo pharmacist, businessman, and philanthropist Jerry H. Hodge for his lifelong dedication to the field of Pharmacy.

The school’s steady growth over more than 25 years has led to three additional locations in Lubbock, Dallas, and Abilene, and has helped the state of Texas address its pharmacist shortage.

Our Commitment

As a community of learners, we are committed to:

  1. The creation of a student-centered, positive learning community in which each person is dedicated to the pharmacy profession and values excellence in education, practice and research.
  2. Collaborative interpersonal relationships - defined as mutual learning, open communication and shared responsibility among faculty, administration and students.
  3. Compassionate care for each patient and an unwavering dedication to meet each patient’s pharmaceutical care needs.
  4. Community involvement and serving the health care needs of the citizens of West Texas. This perspective will be reflected in our doctoral candidates who have a community perspective supported by a sound biologic and behavioral understanding of health care.
  5.  Work characterized by its excellence and our willingness to change, be progressive, make timely and vigilant decisions, and evaluate our performances against stated goals.
  6. Academic and healthcare environments that encourage open debate and dialogue, the introduction of new ideas and practices, innovation through collaboration, and an unwavering commitment to self-improvement, self-renewal and life-long learning.

Our Purpose

MISSION: To enhance the lives of patients through innovation and excellence in pharmacy education, practice and research.

VISION: Transform health care and the lives of the patients we serve.

CULTURE: Our culture – the way we live and act – is created by a strong commitment to a set of core values based on mutual respect, professionalism and integrity.

Strategic Plan

The strategic plan will be a living document with annual reporting to stakeholders including faculty, staff and alumni, students and higher administration of the University. Plan progress will be continuously noted on the website and available to stakeholders. View the 2023 strategic plan.

Annual Report

Every year, the School of Pharmacy releases the Annual Report to highlight the achievements and recognition of faculty, staff and students. The report contains faculty awards, research awards, service awards, student achievements, events and news from the past academic year. View the current annual report for 2023. 

ACPE Performance Indicators - Accreditation: The Doctor of Pharmacy Program of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) School of Pharmacy is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education through June 30, 2028. TTUHSC School of Pharmacy has submitted a Substantive Change Request with Comprehensive Academic Plan to add an alternate pathway, the Pioneer Pathway, to be considered by the Council at its June 2024 meeting.