Employee Wellness Leave Program | Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
TTUHSC students walking through Lubbock campus courtyard.
Young woman in red sweatshirt

Wellness Leave

The Wellness Leave program offers eight (8) hours of additional leave time per fiscal year to eligible employees who complete wellness requirements!  

To be awarded Wellness Leave Hours, employees must:

    1. Receive a physical examination from a health care provider,
    2. Complete the Health Risk Assessment through BlueCross BlueShield of Texas, and
    3. Participate in two eligible wellness events ↓.  

After completing these steps, the employee will be awarded eight (8) hours of Wellness Leave by submitting the Wellness Leave Certification Form and required documentation to HSCWellness@ttuhsc.edu or their campus Human Resources Office.  

Wellness Leave Hours will be awarded to the employee using the Wellness Get Fit (WEF) leave category. WEF hours will be available for use on the first of the month following submission of all required documentation.  

WEF hour awards are limited to 8 hours per fiscal year. Eligible employees will have the option to submit requests for either the Wellness Leave Program which offers 8 hours of WEF leave or the Get Fit Challenge which offers 4 hours of WEF leave. WEF time off must be scheduled in advance and approved by the employee’s supervisor.

Please note: Awarded WEF hours must be used within the fiscal year and will expire on August 31st. WEF hours are not paid out upon separation of employment.

Wellness Events

The following webinars and activities are approved as eligible wellness events for TTUHSC’s Wellness Leave program. A certificate of attendance is required to be submitted along with the Wellness Leave Certification form for the event to be counted for leave awards.   

June 2022 Great Outdoors Month: The Power of Nature

Men’s Health & Human Performance with Russell Frohardt, Ph.D.
Thursday, June 23, 10–11 a.m.

Nature & Your Health with Heather Kuhlken
Thursday, June 30, 10–11 a.m.

Upcoming ERS Themes
  • July 2022 Building a Movement Mindset
  • August 2022 Financial Health
 
September 2021 – Work-Life Balance

Building a Resilient, Smarter Brain
Thursday, September 9, 10–11 a.m.

Finding Flow at Work and in Life
Thursday, September 16, 10–11 a.m.


October 2021 – Self Care & Virtual Wellness Fair

Prioritize You
Monday, October 18, 10–11 a.m.

Putting your health first
Tuesday, October 19, 10–11 a.m

Move More for YOU!
Wednesday, October 20, 10–11 a.m.

Think like a doctor: Become an expert on you!
Thursday, October 21, 10–11 a.m.

Managing Burnout and Compassion Fatigue
Friday, October 22, 10–11 a.m.

Mindfulness Methods
Friday, October 22, noon–1 p.m.


November 2021 – Healthy Holiday Mindset

Building a Healthy Mindset
Wednesday, November 17, 10–11 a.m.

TTUHSC - Tobacco Cessation Program
Thursday, November 18


December 2021 – Gratitude and Your Health

Gratitude: Science and Practical Application
Thursday, December 9, 10–11 a.m.

Get Fit 2022

Get Fit Texas Challenge
Monday, January 10, 2022 through Sunday, March 20, 2022


January 2022 - New Year, New Habits

1° of Difference: Changing one habit can change your life
Thursday, January 20, 10–11 a.m.


February 2022 - Healthy Hearts, Healthy Relationships

Building Healthy Relationships
Thursday, February 17, 10–11 a.m.


March 2022 - National Nutrition Month

Intermittent Fasting & Immunity
Thursday, March 23, 10–11 a.m.

Eat more Plants!
Thursday, March 30, 10–11 a.m.


April 2022 - Stress Awareness Month

Taking Control of Financial Stress
Thursday, April 14, 10–11 a.m.

A Life of Happiness & Fulfillment with Prof. Raj Raghunathan
Thursday, April 21, 10–11 a.m.

Building Healthy Workplace Relationships & a Supportive Culture with David Yebra
Thursday, April 28, 10–11 a.m.

May 2022 - Mental Health Awareness Month

The Healing Power of Breath
Wednesday, May 11, 10–10:45 a.m.

The Power of Vulnerability with Kristen Huff, J.D. & Erica Grigg, J.D.
Wednesday, May 18, 10–11 a.m.

Psychological Safety in the Workplace with LTC David Yebra (US Army Ret.)
Wednesday, May 25, 10–11 a.m.

Please note: ERS provides a certificate of completion by email for individuals attending the live webinars. Individuals may have the opportunity to view prior webinars but a certificate of attendance will not be provided for reviewing past recorded events.  

Questions?

We're here to help. Reach out to HSCWellness@ttuhsc.edu for more information about the Wellness Leave program.