Pharmacology and Neuroscience | Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

 Photo of Graduate Student Peyton Presto working on Multiphoton     Photo of Graduate Student Brent Kisby working in the lab     Photo of Graduate Student Mariacristina Mazzitelli  working on the Confocal     hikingcrew

Chairman's Welcome

Welcome to the website for the Department of Pharmacology and Neuroscience at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC).  Our department is dedicated to excellence in research, medical and graduate education, and service by creating, advancing and disseminating knowledge about drug actions and nervous system functions and dysfunctions.
Great collegiality and collaborative work environment are hallmarks of our departmental culture.  We continue to strengthen and expand interactions with basic scientists across TTUHSC and TTU while building translational bridges with our clinical departments.
Our faculty are well funded by several NIH and foundation grants for studies on clinically relevant disorders. Chronic pain, alcohol use disorder, and neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer’s are main areas of interest and expertise.
Our department houses the Center for Excellence for Translational Neuroscience and Therapeutics (CTNT) and the Translational Neuroscience and Pharmacology (TNP) graduate concentration. Our faculty make valuable contributions to medical and graduate school education, including as SOM Block Director and GSBS Program/Concentration and Course Directors.
Thank you for visiting our website.  Please feel free to contact me with any questions or for more information.


                                              Volker Neugebauer, M.D., Ph.D.

Mission Statement

The Department of Pharmacology and Neuroscience is strongly committed to contributing to the overall mission of TTUHSC to improve the health of people through innovation and collaboration.
Our goal is to perform innovative translational research on clinically relevant and timely topics, and support and promote collaborative research at the School of Medicine and across the University; to offer state-of-the-art education in medical pharmacology and neuroscience to medical and graduate students;  and to provide a simulating first-rate learning and training environment for doctoral students and postdoctoral fellows in the department.

Got Questions?

We're here to help. Contact us if you have questions.

Volker Neugebauer, M.D., Ph.D.

Lisa Moran
Administrative Assistant
(806) 743-1280

Faculty Position

Faculty Position

View more


Congratulations to Peyton Presto on being selected as the 2024 Alexander D. Kenny Outstanding Graduate Student Award recipient! 

Congratulations to the following students on their successful Dissertation Defenses: Trevor Burrow, in Dr. Pat Reynold's lab, Xiaobo Liu, in Dr. Susan Bergeson's lab, and
Peyton Presto, in Dr. Volker Neugebauer's lab.

Congratulations to Neha Sawant, in Dr. Susan Bergeson's lab. Neha has been named one of the 2024 Dean's Scholars!   

We are delighted to announce that Dr. Michael Blanton has been chosen to receive the "Unsung Hero" award for his immense contributions to our students, faculty, and staff. Congratulations, Dr. Blanton!

It is with great pleasure to congratulate Dr. Volker Neugebauer on being this year's Douglas M. Stocco Scholarship/Research Award Recipient. Congratulations Dr. Neugebauer!

Congratulations to Dr. Igor Ponomarev on being awarded tenure by the Board of Regents! We greatly appreciate his hard work and commitment to the department and institution.

CTNT's 8th Annual Symposium

The Center of Excellence for Translational Neuroscience and Therapeutics (CTNT) and Garrison Institute on Aging (GIA) held their 8th Annual Symposium on Brain Health on Wednesday, April 17th. This event featured Distinguished Keynote Speaker: Shreaya Chakroborty, Ph.D., Program Director, Translational Research Branch Division of Neuroscience, NIH National Institute on Aging. 
Please click here for this year's program or visit CTNT's Annual Symposium page by clicking here