Pharmacology and Neuroscience | Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

 Photo of Graduate Student Peyton Presto working on Multiphoton  Photo of Graduate Student Brent Kisby working in the lab  Photo of Graduate Student Mariacristina Mazzitelli  working on the Confocal

Chairman's Welcome

Welcome to the website for the Department of Pharmacology and Neuroscience at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC).  Our department is dedicated to excellence in research, medical and graduate education and service by creating, advancing and disseminating knowledge about drug actions and nervous system functions and dysfunctions.
Great collegiality and collaborative work environment are hallmarks of our departmental culture.  We are strengthening existing interactions and basic scientist at TTUHSC and TTU while building translational bridges with our clinical departments
Our faculty are currently funded by several NIH and foundation grants for studies on clinically relevant disorders.  Our department houses the Center for Excellence for Translational Neuroscience and Therapeutics (CTNT).  Our faculty continue to make valuable contributions to medical and graduate school education for example as Block Director of the Major Organ Systems SOM course and Directors of Graduate Programs/Concentrations.
Thank you for visiting our website.  Please feel free to contact me with any questions or for more information.

                                          photo of Dr. Neugebauer
                                     Volker Neugebauer, M.D., Ph.D.

Mission Statement

The Department of Pharmacology and Neuroscience is strongly committed to contributing to the overall mission of TTUHSC to improve the health of people through excellence in research, education and service.
Our goal is to perform innovative translational research and support and promote such endeavors within the Department, at the School of medicine, and the University at large; to offer state-of-the-art education in medical pharmacology and neuroscience to medical and graduate students; and to provide a simulating first-rate learning and training environment for doctoral students and postdoctoral fellow in the department.

Got Questions?

We're here to help. Contact us if you have questions.

Volker Neugebauer, M.D., Ph.D.

Lisa Moran
Administrative Assistant
(806) 743-1280

Placeholder image

Faculty Position

View more
 Postdoc Position

Postdoc position

Neugebauer Postdoc

Grant Awarded

Dr. Volker Neugebauer has been awarded an R01 grant from the National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. This is a collaborative project with University of Arizona titled; "A prolactin-mediated neuroendocrine link between stress-induced latent sensitization and female-selective pain". This 5 year project is anticipated to receive $2, 297,350.