Faculty | Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
Drawing of molecular structure

Primary Faculty:

pablo artigas

Pablo Artigas, Ph.D.


Structure based functional studies of Na/K ATPase and bilayer regulation of membrane protein function

luis cuello

Luis Cuello, Ph.D.


Graduate Advisor, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Structure-function studies of voltage-gated K+ channels

lan guan

Lan Guan, M.D., Ph.D.

Co-Director, Center for Membrane Protein Research

X-ray crystal structures and mechanisms of cation-coupled transporters

michaela jansen

Michaela Jansen, Pharm.D., Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Medical Education and Accreditation, School of Medicine

Structure and function studies of ligand-gated ion channels and transporters

hongjun liang

Hongjun Liang, Ph.D.


Membrane biophysics and bionanotechnology

raul martinez-zaguilan

Raul Martínez-Zaguilán, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Regulation of intracellular pH and calcium during angiogenesis (diabetes) an tumorigenesis (cancer)

r bryan sutton

R. Bryan Sutton, Ph.D.


X-ray crystallography of peripheral membrane associating C2 domains in synaptotagmin and human dysferlin

michael c wiener

Michael Wiener, Ph.D.

Professor & Chair
Co-Director, Center for Membrane Protein Research

Structural membrane biophysics, TonB-dependent outer membrane active transport, eucaryotic protease and broad-spectrum viral restriction factor Zmpste24, technology development


Research Faculty:

Name  Research Contact Information
Hairong Ma, Ph.D.,Research Assistant Professor                 


Protein folding dynamics and super-resolution imaging
(806) 743-3629
Hariharan Parameswaran, Ph.D.,  Research Assistant Professor                        Structure and function of membrane transporters      
(806) 743-2526


Emeritus Professor:

Name  Research Contact Information
Guillermo Altenberg, M.D., Ph.D.          Membrane transport and biophysics   g.altenberg@ttuhsc.edu
Luis Reuss, M.D. Transport across biological membranes                                                luis.reuss@ttuhsc.edu


Joint & Adjunct Appointees:

Name Department Contact Information        
Michael Blanton, Ph.D. Pharmacology & Neuroscience, TTUHSC (806) 743-2425
Elka Georgieva, Ph.D. Chemistry & Biochemistry, TTU (806)834-8166
Juyang Huang, Ph.D. Physics, TTU (806) 834-3182
Michael Latham, Ph.D. UMN  
Carlos González León Biophysics, Centro Universitario de Neurociencias, Universidad de Valparaiso, Chile  
Ruibin Liang, Ph.D. Chemistry & Biochemistry, TTU (806)834-7183
Thomas Pressley, Ph.D. Medical Education, TTUHSC  
Mauricio Retamal, Ph.D. Physiology, Univ del Desarrollo Chile  
Doug Swartz, Ph.D. Natural Sciences, Lubbock Christian University (806) 720-7710
Ina Urbatsch, Ph.D. Cell Biology & Biochemistry, TTUHSC (806) 743-1192
Joachim Weber, Ph.D. Chemistry & Biochemistry, TTU (806) 742-1297
Benjamin Wylie, Ph.D. Chemistry & Biochemistry, TTU (806) 834-2328