Medical Education | Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

DOME Fac Staff


The Department of Medical Education was established in 2013 as the academic home for faculty with primary responsibility for the first- and second-year curriculum and the Family Medicine Accelerated Track in the TTUHSC School of Medicine.  All current Block Directors and Co-Directors have a primary or joint appointment in the department.  The Department and its faculty members work closely with the Office of Academic Affairs and the Office of Student Affairs within the School of Medicine Academic Affairs and Faculty Affairs and Development, with many members serving on the Educational Policy Committee, the Educational Operating Committee, the Student Affairs Committee, and the Student Promotions and Professional Conduct Committee.

In addition, the Department of Medical Education includes both Educational Media Services and a close relationship with the Institute of Anatomical Sciences, which further includes the Willed Body Program.  Both of these offices and groups of faculty and staff transitioned to the Department from their previous home in the Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry.

Since the Department's creation, it has acquired the nickname "The DOME," as a fond reference to the acronym formed by its name, Department of Medical Education.  As the DOME grows and matures, we anticipate living up to our nickname by providing a refuge, a support, a source of inspiration, and an example of aspiration for excellence in medical education, just as do the beloved architectural domes throughout the world.

Our Mission Statement

The Department of Medical Education at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine provides leadership and innovation in medical school teaching and scholarship, supporting students on their journey toward becoming principled and capable physicians.

small group learning     simulation learning   

white coat     poster session


Among the preliminary goals for our department are to develop, implement and assess innovation in medical education, offer faculty development and growth opportunities for medical educators, and share expertise in curriculum design, teaching innovation, and evaluation strategies with the entire School of Medicine community.

Betsy Goebel Jones, EdD

University Distinguished Professor and Department Chair Department of Medical Education